Copy edit symbols are magical runes

Well not really.  I’ve been reading The Hobbit out loud to my son as of late, so I have runes on the brain, but there’s something about the regimented copy edit symbols that I find fascinating.

For one, if you google search, you’ll find variations.  I tend to use the U of Colorado site as a rubrick if I don’t understand the symbol.   Of course, if I really don’t undrestand the symbol, then I just write STET.

Oh, the magical power of STET.  Having spent the last week on my copy edits for NO SLEEP TILL WONDERLAND, I didn’t write STET a lot, but I almost felt guilty doing it each time.  Who am I to overturn the elegance of a strikethrough with a curly-cue at the end?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

