2008 Shirley Jackson Award Winners

2008 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2008 Shirley Jackson Awards winners were announced on Sunday, July 12th 2009, at Readercon 20, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Congratulations to all winners.

THE SHADOW YEAR, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)


* Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst (Riverhead Hardcover)
* The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (Wizards of the Coast Discoveries)
* Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory (Del Rey)
* The Resurrectionist, Jack O’Connell (Algonquin Books)
* Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

DISQUIET, Julia Leigh (Penguin/Hamish Hamilton)


* “Dormitory,” Yoko Ogawa (The Diving Pool, Picador)
* Living With the Dead, Darrell Schweitzer (PS Publishing)
* The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti, Stephen Graham Jones (Chiasmus Press)
* “N,”, Stephen King (Just After Sunset, Scribner)

“PRIDE AND PROMETHEUS,” John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)


* “Hunger Moon,” Deborah Noyes (The Ghosts of Kerfol, Candlewick Press)
* “The Lagerstatte,” Laird Barron (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Ballantine Books/Del Rey)
* “Penguins of the Apocalypse,” William Browning Spencer (Subterranean: Tales of Dark Fantasy, Subterranean Press)
* The Situation, Jeff VanderMeer (PS Publishing)

“THE PILE,” Michael Bishop (Subterranean Online, Winter 2008)


* “68° 07’ 15″N, 31° 36’ 44″W,” Conrad Williams (Fast Ships, Black Sails, Night Shade Books)
* “The Dinner Party,” Joshua Ferris (The New Yorker, August 11, 2008)
* “Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandonment: One Daughter’s Personal Account,” M. Rickert (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Oct/Nov 2008)
* “The Inner City,” Karen Heuler (Cemetery Dance #58, 2008)
* “Intertropical Convergence Zone,” Nadia Bulkin (ChiZine, Issue 37, 2008)

THE DIVING POOL, Yoko Ogawa (Picador)


* A Better Angel, Chris Adrian (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
* Dangerous Laughter, Steven Millhauser (Knopf)
* The Girl on the Fridge, Etgar Keret (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
* Just After Sunset, Stephen King (Scribner)
* Wild Nights!, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)

THE NEW UNCANNY, Edited by Sarah Eyre and Ra Page (Comma Press)


* Bound for Evil, edited by Tom English (Dead Letter Press)
* Exotic Gothic 2: New Tales of Taboo, edited by Danel Olson (Ash-Tree Press)
* Fast Ships, Black Sails, edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer (Night Shade Books)
* Shades of Darkness, edited by Barbara and Christopher Roden (Ash-Tree Press)

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!


Leave a comment

Filed under Shirley Jackson Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s