One sad, angry author gets email response from Amazon

Amazon vs. Macmillan continues (as discussed previously my blog and elsewhere on the interwebs) and so many authors still are without their buy buttons.  Me included.  For the purposes of this blog let me reiterate: ME.

Earlier this week, full of gumption and bile, spit and vigor, and quite possible a little gas if I’m being painfully honest, and helplessness too as I was watching my career adversely affected by corporation temper tantrum/spin/power grab whatever you want to call it, I decided to creat a new genre to help offset the losses in sales: sleepunk.  I know, it’s brilliant.

Oh, and I wrote an email to Amazon through their general feedback system at their site.

Yeah, writing the following is the equivalent of yelling at the ocean to cut the crap with that high tide stuff, I still wrote it:

“As a customer (my family and I spend at least X dollars per year at amazon) and as a writer who had directed so many of my readers to amazon, I’m outraged at the action of pulling Macmillan books off your site.  It’s bargaining in bad faith and you clearly do not have writers’ interests at heart, nor do I believe (particularly with your stance on DRM) that you have the consumers best interests in heart.

I’m deeply disappointed (though not shocked) at the bald-faced power and money grab.

Paul Tremblay”

Okay, a Modest Proposal it’s not.  I wrote it in thirty seconds, right before I went to bed.

I got the following New Speak response:

Hello,

First, allow me to apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused.

We are working with the publisher to make Macmillan books available as soon as possible and at the lowest possible prices for our customers. We will e-mail you when these titles are available, which we hope will be soon.

I have passed your message along to the appropriate people in our company for consideration. We always appreciate strong customer feedback and we thank you for taking the time to send us your comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Did I solve your problem?

If yes, please click here:
http://www.amazon.com/rsvpyou’rescrewedeitherway

If no, please click here:
http://www.amazon.com/rsvpitdoesn’treallymatterwhatyouthinkorsayordo

Please note: this e-mail was sent from an address that cannot accept incoming e-mail.

To contact us about an unrelated issue, please visit the Help section of our web site.

Best regards,

name redacted Skippy McGee
Amazon.com
We’re Building Earth’s Most Customer-Centric Company
http://www.amazon.com/your-account

Two comments:

–No, Skippy did not solve my problem.

–‘We’re Building Earth’s Most Customer-Centric Company’ is more vomit inducing than ipecac .

So my fire and brimstone email (sent on Feb 2nd) clearly hasn’t had any affect.  For that I apologize to my fellow amazonless authors.

Looks like I better get cranking on sleepunk…

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “One sad, angry author gets email response from Amazon

  1. Zach

    Paul,
    That’s strange cuz I was just on Amazon, and I saw “No Sleep Till Wonderland” was available. I plan on buying it, so are you telling me that I can’t due to a dispute between them and your publisher? That’s utter shit, man.

    • thelittlesleep

      Zach,

      Looks like you have the magic touch. Up until tonight, my books weren’t available on amazon for (almost a full week).

      You can order it now, though!

      paul

  2. Zach

    Thanks Paul!
    Hey, I just finished The Little Sleep earlier today. Great novel! I was expecting Bishop to get impregnated with Jennifer (since she looks like her), so the ending surprised me. I love Mark’s character. Where did you get the inspiration for him? Anyway, its now one of my favorite books. Thanks for writing it!

    • thelittlesleep

      Thanks for the kind words, Zach! Glad you dug the book.

      I stumbled on Mark sort of by chance. I had the idea for the missing-fingers first chapter but was going to play it straight (like her fingers really were missing), like a SF/horror mixed with noir. But I had no story idea, so I put it away. Then, months later, I happened to be reading about narcolepsy and its symptoms online and that first chapter made sense to me (her fingers weren’t really missing; he was dreaming). I kinda took it from there.

      paul

  3. Zach

    Ha! Yeah, I actually read the first chapter in a BAM and I was stuck. I started it last Wednesday, ad I just couldn’t put it down. I saw that you were doing some signings up in New England. You know, you should come down around Baltimore or Frederick, MD. Weather’s warmer, but the sun doesn’t have that toothy smile.

Leave a Reply

