Readercon Schedule (July 8-11)

Readercon is this weekend folks. It’s that time of  year already.

I will not be terribly busy, which translates into more time spent in the dealers room, the hotel watering hole, and more time spent making fun of John Langan:

Friday 12:00 Noon, VT: Reading (30 min.)

a short story from his forthcoming collection _In the Mean Time_.

I anticipate reading two of the short-short pieces (both under 2K words) in In the  Mean Time (likely “Harold the Spider Man” and “The Marlborough Man Meets the End,” with perhaps the beginning of “We Will Never Live in the Castle”).

Friday 1:00 PM, Salon F: Panel

New England: At Home to the _Unheimlich_?.  F. Brett Cox, Elizabeth Hand (M), Caitlin
R. Kiernan, Faye Ringel, Paul Tremblay, Catherynne M. Valente.

In a blog post, Catherynne M. Valente writes, “New England is, I think, the natural home of horror. All these creaking old houses, these snaking trees, these hermetically sealed universities… To my child’s mind, in Seattle and then in California where, oh, there is so much light, so much light nothing dark could ever hide, New England was where they kept the secrets. The histories of magical, hungry things. New England was where Halloween was true and serious and howling. New England was where things buried
always rose up.” Our panelists debate this provocative suggestion and offer their own ideas of the atmospheric elements essential to a horror story’s setting.

Sunday 11:00 AM, Salon G: Event

The Shirley Jackson Awards..  Nalo Hopkinson (MC), Nick Antosca, Ellen Datlow, Gemma Files, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Robert Shearman, and Paul Witcover (nominees), F. Brett Cox
and John Langan (judges), Elizabeth Hand, Jack M. Haringa, Peter Straub, Paul Tremblay (advisors).

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as _The Haunting of Hill House_ and _We Have Always Lived in the Castle_, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.  The awards given in her name have been voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors, for the best work published in the calendar year of 2009 in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s