Back from WFC, and boy are my arms tired

To quote MCLUSKY: “I’m fearful, I’m fearful, I’m fearful of flyin’. And flyin’ is fearful of me.”

So, yeah, I don’t like to fly. I can’t control the lizard part of my brain that screams YOUR BODY SHOULDN’T BE UP HERE, SITTING IN A CHAIR IN THE SKY, AND YOU PROBABLY SHOULDN’T EAT THOSE PRETZELS TOO. Even though, mathematically, I understand the infinitesimal odds of dying in a plane crash. Freaky human, I am.

The short version is that I had one of the best weekends ever. Didn’t really participate in much of the con programming. At all. I did a reading (I read “Our Town’s Monster,” a story I’m shopping around), and attending the big Chizine fall release party. At the party, I did a punk rock reading from “The Teacher.” I think I’ll swear at all audiences before reading from now on.

I won’t name drop, but I pretty much got to eat with and speak with who I wanted to. I even got lifted in the air once. There might be a picture of that some day. To old friends and new, thanks for the great weekend, and I can’t wait for the next one.

On the plane ride home, in between bouts of abject terror, I talked with a guy who thought the con was okay, but that he was shy and he had a hard time connecting with folks, etc. I couldn’t help but think back to my first few cons (because it’s always about me!) and how I worked myself in a veritable lather over shyness/self-esteem issue. Hell, at World Horror in 2002, I spent most of the time napping in my hotel room because I was so frazzled about the whole thing. But, the con experience for me got better. Partly because I got used to it, got used to myself being there, if that makes sense. But mostly the con experience has improved because I’m lucky there’s an insane bunch of fools who share my interests and who actually tolerate my presence. And my presents.

Group hug for the lot of yas. Now go buy my book.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Back from WFC, and boy are my arms tired

  1. wickerkat

    Sounds like a great time. I’ve been to neither WFC or WHC, but both sound like a blast. Damn, looking at a list of people who were attending or nominated this year at WFC, should have gone.

Leave a Reply

