Horror songs/videos for your Halloween season, or (as in my case) for any occasion you see fit.

Here’s the deal (no exchange of currency–not a deal in that sense–, this is free!): The lyrics, the tone of the song, or the video (or all three) will be horror-ish. Also, to take pressure off myself, this isn’t an all-time list (like then I’d have to include Rockwell’s “Somebody’s Watching Me”), but a list what’s pinging in my ears and eyeballs right now. No order in particular:

–Neighborhood Brats, “We Own the Night”  (Sometimes I play this song five to ten times in a row. Hack guitar player that I am, I learned how to play this too. No werewolves were harmed in the making of his list).

 

 

–Protomarytr, “Come and See” (This band sounds like the coming apocalypses)

 

–The Drones, “Shark Fin Blues” (I can’t have a horror list without a shark song, or two)

 

–Yeah Yeah Yeahs, “Heads Will Roll” (I once used this video in a how-to-write-horror-that-doesn’t-suck lecture, or screed)

 

–Pissed Jeans, “Bathroom Laughter” (A quiet little ditty about dread and despair and consumer TV and a little dog)

 

–I Speak Machine, “Zombies 1985” (Soundtrack to an 80’s film that never existed…yes, please)

 

–Nina Nastasia & Jim White, “Late Night” (“there’s blood on the road and blood on your face”)

 

–Salem, “Sick” (a recent discovery as a friend posted this song, and it haunts me)

 

–Shellac, “The End of Radio” (paired with “Sick,” another end-of-the-world take)

 

–The Tragically Hip, “Nautical Disaster” (brilliant narrative lyrically…and water, big water scares me, so much so I haven’t really been able to write about it)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

