Favorite reads of 2016

Crap year, great books. I’m breaking with my own bloggery tradition and internet rules that ordain one must choose 10 or another number that oh-so-cleverly-deviates-from-ten in one’s year’s favorite’s list. This year I’m making the list bigger because I want to celebrate more of the books I read this year (most published in 2016) that I enjoyed and I highly recommend. The order mostly when-they-were-read chronological order.

–Victor LaValle, The Ballad of Black Tom (novella)

–Andrew Michael Hurley, The Loney

–A Collapse of Horses, Brian Evenson (collection)

–Liz Hand, Hard Light

–Amy Lukavics, Daughters Unto Devils

–Megan Abbott, You Will Know Me

–Peter Straub, Interior Darkness (collection)

–Letitia Trent, Almost Dark

–Valeria Luiselli, The Story of My Teeth

–Idra Novey, Ways to Disappear

–Bracken MacLeod, Stranded

–Michael Cisco, The Knife Dance (novella, I wrote an introduction)

–Legend, Samuel Sattin and Chris Koehler (Comic… I wrote an introduction to the first trade!)

–Livia Llewellyn, Furnace (collection)

–Stewart O’Nan, City of Secrets

–Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Certain Dark Things

–China Mieville, This Census Taker (novella)

–Nick Mamatas, The Last Weekend

–Glen Hirshberg, Good Girls

–Damien Angelica Walters, Paper Tigers

–Stephen Graham Jones, Mongrels

–Christopher Buehlman, The Suicide Motor Club

–Gabino Iglesias, Zero Saints

–Jon Ronson, So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed (non-fiction)

–John Langan, The Fisherman

–Brian Evenson, The Warren (novella)

–Laird Barron, Swift to Chase (collection, I wrote an introduction)

–Chuck Wendig, Invasive

–Jeffrey Ford, A Natural History of Hell (collection)

–Michelle Paver, Thin Air

–Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad (my favorite read of the year…)

–Kang Han, The Vegetarian (novella)

–Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Hex

–Caroline Kepnes, You

–Steve Rasnic Tem, Out of the Dark

–Manuel Gonzales, The Regional Office Is Under Attack

–T E Grau, They Don’t Come Home Anymore (novella)

–Kea Wilson, We Eat Our Own

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Favorite reads of 2016

  1. Pingback: Mongrels Best of the Year Listings - Stephen Graham Jones

Leave a comment